Thursday, December 20, 2012

Love - Forever Changes (Remaster)

Forever Changes is the third album released by Love in 1967. Originally, the album was to be produced by Bruce Botnick and Neil Young, but Young bowed out due to his commitments to Buffalo Springfield. However, Young did stick with the album project long enough to arrange the track The Daily Planet. The sessions began in June 1967, with the group replaced by Los Angeles session players Billy Strange (guitar), Don Randi (piano), Hal Blaine (drums) and Carol Kaye (bass). The two tracks recorded during these sessions, Andmoreagain and The Daily Planet, were later given sparing overdubs by the actual members of Love, who felt the tracks otherwise sufficed. Botnick recalls that the use of session musicians sparked the band, and they realized they had blown it, got their act together and recorded the rest of the album. A September recording session finished the album, sweetening the mixes with horns and strings, as well as some additional piano from Don Randi, who played all the keyboard parts on the album as the band now had no keyboard player.

The album was re-released by Rhino in 2001, featuring alternate mixes, outtakes and the group's 1968 single, Your Mind and We Belong Together.

Line-up: Arthur Lee Johnny Echols Bryan MacLean Ken Forssi Michael Stuart

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

1967 Love - Forever Changes
@320 2001 Remaster